top of page

Woman Up! Graduation Speech

Katie`s Intro Junk

"When I first started this project or program in the summer, I didn't completely understand what I had signed up for. I knew it involved women`s empowerment and the University of Michigan was involved, but other than that it was pure curiosity that won me over. You see, before I joined this group, I was never the first person to fight for my right or battle for sake of saying that I won. I kind of had an attitude that gave off a “the world may change around me, but I still stay the same” ideal. Or passive, that would be a good way to describe my outlook on the world. I knew that there were factors at the social and political levels that affected me, but I didn't see them as direct hits to who I was or what I stood for, because frankly I didn't want to care. I had always imagined that someone more educated or experienced would kick-start whatever change needed to happen in the world and I would do what I always did, ride the waves of the aftermath with just the slightest kickback in my everyday life. However, within those first few seconds of conversation, I knew that my perception was changing. Dumbstruck, that’s the only word I can use to describe how I felt after Dr. Haniff asked the very first question. An embarrassing amount of perspiration appeared on my face as the temperature of the room slowly rose and I silently hoped that Nadia or Taylor would have to answer whatever the question was first. It wasn't because I was afraid of speaking, it was the fact that had to say what I felt and be able to explain why. Real and current topics about social rules, race and gender, were all traced back to our own thoughts about other people and ourselves.

After reflecting to myself about our interesting conversations, I realized that this group was created because there is a problem in society with the value young women put on themselves. There is a problem with the way young women, my age, in this city, this state, this country and this world are taught to think. This program wasn't just made to make girls feel like the all-powerful beings that they are. It was a training school for girls to change how they think, act, and speak to assess situations and find the truth about how much change they are capable of in society. Discoveries made by Nadia, Taylor and myself when faced with this predicament, are things that we will keep in our intellectual arsenals for further use as each of us go through life. By using what I have learned in this program, I have transformed into the most vibrant version of myself. A young woman who is capable of being the leader of the pack and smiling on the challenges that now, I choose to face head-on.

I think this whole experience has helped me become a more conscious person. If I have learned anything from this program, it would be that Change does not have to start with an adult with a degree, in some big city, it can start with yourself. You don't have to look a hero to be one. Your own thoughts are strong enough to stand on their own."


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page